OLC Announces 2022 Awards and Honors Recipients

Awards and Honors logo

The Ohio Library Council (OLC) continues its tradition of honoring the best and brightest individuals and organizations in the Ohio library community through its Awards and Honors program. The following honorees have demonstrated outstanding leadership and remarkable dedication to providing exceptional library service to their communities.

Hall of Fame Librarian:
George Needham, Director, Delaware County District Library
Librarian of the Year
Kacie Armstrong, Director, Euclid Public Library
Service Excellence Award:
Laura Rosero, Cincinnati and Hamilton County Public Library
Trustee/Board of Trustees Award of Achievement:
Robert Jenkins, Trustee, Dr. Samuel L. Bossard Memorial Library of Gallia County
Diana Vescelius Emerging Leader Award:
Taryn Mirabello, Portsmouth Public Library
Library Innovation Award:
West End Stories Project Podcast, Cincinnati and Hamilton County Public Library
Citizen of the Year Award:
Testing Team from the Ohio Department of Health
Benjamin Anderson and Mark Hamlin


More information about the award recipients is available on the OLC website.


“The OLC is honored to celebrate the achievements of these professionals, who are exemplary leaders and advocates, and whose contributions have advanced the mission of public libraries and improved the quality of life for millions of Ohioans,” said OLC Executive Director, Michelle Francis.


Award winners will be recognized during a special ceremony and luncheon on Wed., Sept. 28 during the 2022 OLC Convention and Expo at the Glass City Center in downtown Toledo.