OLC Announces 2023 Awards and Honors Recipients

The OLC continues its tradition of honoring the best and brightest individuals and organizations in the Ohio library community through its Awards and Honors program. The following honorees have demonstrated outstanding leadership and remarkable dedication to providing exceptional library service to their communities.

headshots of all award winners

Hall of Fame Librarian:

Jeff Yahraus, Williams County Public Library


Librarian of the Year:

Sandi Thompson, Puskarich Public Library System


Service Excellence Award:

Wendy Tressler, Columbus Metropolitan Library


Local Library Champion Award:

Marilyn Donahue, Licking County Library


Library Innovation Award:

“The Essentials” Employee Orientation Program, Geauga County Public Library Branch Managers


Citizen of the Year:

Peter Voderberg and the BroadbandOhio Team

“OLC is honored to celebrate the achievements of these professionals, who are exemplary leaders and advocates, and whose contributions have advanced the mission of public libraries and improved the quality of life for millions of Ohioans,” said Michelle Francis, Executive Director of the Ohio Library Council.

Award winners will be recognized during a special ceremony and luncheon on Wed., Sept. 27 at 11:30 a.m. during the OLC’s 2023 Convention and Expo at the Duke Energy Convention Center in downtown Cincinnati.

Learn more about previous award winners.