OLC Board Welcomes New Officers for 2022

The Ohio Library Council’s Board of Directors held its first meeting of the new year today and is pleased to announce its officers for 2022. The Board welcomed Tom Dillie, director of the Minerva Public Library as its new Chair, replacing Cheryl Kuonen, director of the Mentor Public Library, who will serve as Past Chair. Laura Lee Wilson, director of the Huron County Community Public Library is Chair-Elect; Carol Herrick, trustee of the Washington-Centerville Public Library; is Secretary-Treasurer. All officers will serve one-year terms.

photo of Tom Dillie

Tom Dillie, Chair

photo of Laura Lee Wilson

Laura Lee Wilson, Chair-Elect

photo of Carol Herrick

Carol Herrick, Secretary-Treasurer

Returning board members for 2022 include:
• Kacie Armstrong, Director, Euclid Public Library
• Aimee Fifarek, Director, Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County
• Jennifer Slone, Access Director, Chillicothe & Ross County Public Library
• Paula Brehm-Heeger, Director, Cincinnati and Hamilton County Public Library
• Sarah Clevidence, Director, Findlay-Hancock County Public Library
• Mary Ellen Icaza, Director, Stark County District Library
• Melissa Marolt, Director, Perry County District Library
• Rick Rubin, Trustee, Cuyahoga Falls Public Library
• Chad Seeberg, Trustee, Marysville Public Library

“The past two years have been the busiest and most challenging for Ohio’s public libraries,” said Michelle Francis, Executive Director, Ohio Library Council. “From distributing Covid testing kits to creating new ways to serve everyone from children to isolated seniors, our libraries have done so much to help their communities. Many libraries are providing these services from aging buildings in need of repair and with significant staffing shortages. I am grateful for these leaders who have stepped up to continue our mission and to ensure that Ohio’s public libraries remain the best in the nation.”