2017 OLC Awards and Honors Recipients


The Ohio Library Council  continues its tradition of honoring the best and brightest individuals and organizations in the Ohio library community through its Awards and Honors program. The 2017 honorees have demonstrated outstanding leadership and remarkable dedication to providing exceptional library service to their communities. They will receive their awards at the OLC Convention and Expo Awards and Honors Luncheon on Oct. 4 at the Dayton Crowne Plaza Hotel.

The Ohio Library Council is proud to recognize the following recipients of the 2017 Awards and Honors:


Hall of Fame Librarian
Kimber L. Fender, The Eva Jane Romaine Coombe Director, Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County

Librarian of the Year
Deborah L. Saunders, Executive Director, Bossard Memorial Library (Gallipolis)

Library Innovation Award
Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County (“We Have the Hots for You” suite of services)

Service Excellence Award
Michael Christian-Budd, Cataloging Team Lead, Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County

John Philip Outreach Award
Cathy Hunter, Portsmouth Public Library

Trustee Award of Achievement
Thomas R. Uhler, Rossford Public Library Board of Trustees

Citizen of the Year Award
Stephen Hedges, Director, OPLIN

Award recipients are chosen by the OLC’s Awards and Honors Committee based on nominations from the library community and a comprehensive set of criteria.

Meet the 2017 Awards and Honors Recipients (PDF)

Learn more about the nomination process on the OLC website.