Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Committee Members | Goals and Objectives

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee is responsible for recommending ways in which the OLC can address diversity as it relates to the library profession in general and to the Ohio library community. Aspects of diversity include but are not limited to age, disability, gender, religion, sexual orientation and ethnicity. Through training, speakers, workshops, and publications, the Committee serves as a resource on diversity to the OLC and its membership.

 

Committee Members

Tara Shiman, Chair (2022)
Worthington Libraries
Work: 614-807-2626
tshiman@worthingtonlibraries.org

Natalie Dielman, Assistant Chair (2022)
Way Public Library
419-874-3135 x112
natalie.dielman@waylibrary.info

Megs Francis (2023)
Dayton Metro Library
mfrancis@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Natalie Jemiola (2022)
Westlake-Porter Public Library
Work: 440-871-2600
natalie.jemiola@westlakelibrary.org

Samantha Nicholson (2023)
Willoughby-Eastlake Public Library
Work: 440-943-2203
snicholson76@gmail.com

Sondra Presley (2024)
Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library
Work: 513-665-2853
sondra.presley@cincinnatilibrary.org

Felton Thomas (2024)
Cleveland Public Library
Work: 216-623-2827
felton.thomas@cpl.org

Jordan Valentine  (2023)
jvalent4@kent.edu

Holly Walter (2023)
Findlay-Hancock County Public Library
Work: 419-434-1485
hwalter@findlaylibrary.org

Board Liaison: Kacie Armstrong
PDC Liaison: Maggie Killman
Staff Liaison: Michelle Francis

Goals and Objectives

  • Providing a “spotlight” on DEI issues in Access newsletter
  • Collaborating with other committees/divisions
  • Sponsoring programs and speakers for conferences and webinars
  • Assisting with DEI Conference in October 2022

Annual Report (PDF)