Outreach and Special Services Division

Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Outreach and Special Services Division identifies outreach opportunities and best practices for serving populations outside the library including institutionalized and disadvantaged groups, people with disabilities as well as seniors and children.

Recent Newsletters

Speakers Bureau StoryWalk®
Color Yourself Calm Library Link Program
Books Outside the Building Younger to Older Patrons
Bookmobile to Branch Incentive Partnership with YMCA
Storytimes at the Farmer’s Market Bookmobile Stops

Outreach Tools

Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services (ABOS)
The mission of ABOS is to support and encourage government officials, library administrators, trustees and staff in the provision of quality bookmobile and outreach services to meet diverse community information and programming needs. Each year, the ABOS conference committee creates a dynamic conference for library and outreach staff designed to provide training, practical knowledge, leadership, and many networking opportunities.

ALA Outreach Toolkits
The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services (ODLOS) and its member groups have developed a variety of resources, most of which are free to the profession.

Action Council

Marie Corbitt, Coordinator (2019)
Westerville Public Library
Work: (614) 882-7277 x2110
E-Mail: mcorbitt@westervillelibrary.org

Kim Bautz, Asst. Coordinator (2019)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8956
E-Mail: kbautz@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Ann Plazek, Secretary (2019)
Medina County District Library
Work: (330) 722-2490
E-Mail: plazek@mcdl.info

Brock Hutchison, Past Coordinator (2019)
Stark County District Library
Work: (330) 458-2820
E-Mail: bhutchison@starklibrary.org

Mary Breymaier (2020)
Ida Rupp Public Library
Work: (419) 732-3212
E-Mail: mbreymaier@seolibraries.org

Cheryl Kirkbride (2019)
Kate Love Simpson-Morgan County Library
Work: (740) 962-2533
E-Mail: ckirkbride@seolibraries.org

Andrea Legg (2020)
Tuscarawas County Public Library
Work: (330) 364-4474 x234
E-Mail: alegg@tusclibrary.org

Gabrielle Rathge  (2019)
Worthington Libraries
Work: (614) 807-2643
E-Mail: grathge@worthingtonlibraries.org

Board Liaison: Laura Lee Wilson
PDC Liaisons: Allison Knight, Tara Kressler

Goals and Objectives

  1. Focus on a successful Outreach Retreat by getting more support from our past Outreach Retreat attendees and seek their participation in sessions, specifically LIBchats.
  2. Ensure a presence “Telling our Stories” at our OLC Connects table at the 2019 OLC Convention.
  3. Submit a program for all 4 conferences in 2019: Convention, Safety & Security, Community Engagement, and Facilities.