Outreach and Special Services Division

Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Outreach and Special Services Division identifies outreach opportunities and best practices for serving populations outside the library including institutionalized and disadvantaged groups, people with disabilities as well as seniors and children.

Recent Newsletters

Color Yourself Calm Library Link Program
Books Outside the Building Younger to Older Patrons
Bookmobile to Branch Incentive Partnership with YMCA

Outreach Tools

ALA Outreach Toolkits

 

Action Council

Julie Buchanan, Coordinator (2017)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8859
E-Mail: jbuchanan@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Brock Hutchison, Assistant Coordinator (2017)
Licking County library
Work: (740) 349-5562
E-Mail: bhutchison@lickingcountylibrary.info

Robbie Apt, Secretary (2017)
Delaware County District Library
Work: (740) 549-2665
E-Mail: rapt@delawarelibrary.org

Lindsey Smith, Past Coordinator (2017)
Worthington Libraries
Work: (614) 807-2643
E-Mail: lsmith@worthingtonlibraries.org

Marie Corbitt (2017)
Westerville Public Library
Work: (614) 882-7277 x2110
E-Mail: mcorbitt@westervillelibrary.org

Ann Plazek (2017)
Medina County District Library
Work: (330) 722-2490
E-Mail: plazek@mcdl.info

Gabrielle Rathge (2018)
Worthington Libraries
Work: (614) 807-3630
E-Mail: grathge@worthingtonlibraries.org

Melissa Wagner (2018)
Wadsworth Public Library
Work: (330) 334-5761
E-Mail: melissa.wagner@wadsworthlibrary.com

 

Board Liaison: Deborah Dubois

 

Goals and Objectives

  • Update links and resources on the OLC website including:
    1. Archived, searchable Successful Outreach Stories (S.O.S.)
    2. Links to Outreach webinars
    3. A link to Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services (ABOS)
    4. Links to other libraries’ outreach sites and Pinterest boards (for professional development and idea sharing purposes)
    5. Link to ALA’s Outreach Toolkit
    6. Link to lists of Ohio Bookmobiles
  • Increase professional development opportunities through a variety of venues (ABOS, webinars, chapter conferences, as appropriate).
  • Expand membership and services to librarians in specialized libraries.
  • Increase attendance and awareness for the annual Outreach Retreat.