Outreach and Special Services Division

Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Outreach and Special Services Division identifies outreach opportunities and best practices for serving populations outside the library including institutionalized and disadvantaged groups, people with disabilities as well as seniors and children.

Recent Newsletters

Speakers Bureau StoryWalk®
Color Yourself Calm Library Link Program
Books Outside the Building Younger to Older Patrons
Bookmobile to Branch Incentive Partnership with YMCA
Storytimes at the Farmer’s Market Bookmobile Stops

Outreach Tools

Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services (ABOS)
The mission of ABOS is to support and encourage government officials, library administrators, trustees and staff in the provision of quality bookmobile and outreach services to meet diverse community information and programming needs. Each year, the ABOS conference committee creates a dynamic conference for library and outreach staff designed to provide training, practical knowledge, leadership, and many networking opportunities.

ALA Outreach Toolkits
The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services (ODLOS) and its member groups have developed a variety of resources, most of which are free to the profession.

Action Council

Brock Hutchison, Coordinator (2018)
Stark County District Library
Work: (330) 458-2820
E-Mail: bhutchison@starklibrary.org

Julie Buchanan, Past Coordinator
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8859
E-Mail: jbuchanan@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Marie Corbitt, Asst. Coordinator
Westerville Public Library
Work: (614) 882-7277 x2110
E-Mail: mcorbitt@westervillelibrary.org

Melissa Wagner, Secretary
Wadsworth Public Library
Work: (330) 334-5761
E-Mail: melissa.wagner@wadsworthlibrary.com

Kim Bautz (2019)
Dayton Metro Library
E-Mail: kbautz@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Cheryl Kirkbride (2018)
Kate Love Simpson-Morgan County Library
Work: (740) 962-2533
E-Mail: ckirkbride@seolibraries.org

Ann Plazek (2019)
Medina County District Library
Work: (330) 722-2490
E-Mail: plazek@mcdl.info

Gabrielle Rathge  (2019)
Worthington Libraries
Work: (614) 807-3630
E-Mail: grathge@worthingtonlibraries.org

 

Board Liaison: Deborah Dubois

 

Goals and Objectives

  •  Create informational marketing brochure for the division

  •  Update links on OLC Website

    (1) Link to lists of bookmobiles
    (2) Create description for ABOS link and ALA Toolkit link

  • Offer two senior service webinars

  • Develop Outreach and Special Services listserv