Outreach and Special Services Division

Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Outreach and Special Services Division identifies outreach opportunities and best practices for serving populations outside the library including institutionalized and disadvantaged groups, people with disabilities as well as seniors and children.

Recent Newsletters

Speakers Bureau StoryWalk®
Color Yourself Calm Library Link Program
Books Outside the Building Younger to Older Patrons
Bookmobile to Branch Incentive Partnership with YMCA
Storytimes at the Farmer’s Market Bookmobile Stops

Outreach Tools

Home Visit Safety Guidelines (PDF)
Safety precautions for library staff delivering materials off-site.

Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services (ABOS)
The mission of ABOS is to support and encourage government officials, library administrators, trustees and staff in the provision of quality bookmobile and outreach services to meet diverse community information and programming needs. Each year, the ABOS conference committee creates a dynamic conference for library and outreach staff designed to provide training, practical knowledge, leadership, and many networking opportunities.

ALA Outreach Toolkits
The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services (ODLOS) and its member groups have developed a variety of resources, most of which are free to the profession.

Action Council

Ann Plazek, Coordinator (2021)
Medina County District Library
Work: 330-722-2490
plazek@mcdl.info

Gabrielle Rathge, Secretary (2021)
Worthington Libraries
Work: 614-807-2643
grathge@worthingtonlibraries.org

Kimberly Bautz, Past Coordinator (2021)
Greene County Public Library
Work: 937-736-7057
kbautz@gcpl.lib.oh.us

Megan Francis (2022)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: 937-463-8691
mfrancis@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Alice Mackey (2022)
Marysville Public Library
Work: 937-642-1876
amackey@marysvillelib.org

Laura O’Neil (2021)
Athens County Public Libraries
Work: 740-737-6009
loneil@myacpl.org 12/31/2021

Kris Ringwalt (2021)
Coshocton Public Library
Work: 740-502-0444
kringwalt@coshoctonlibrary.org

Chelsea Yergens (2021)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: 937-496-8724
cyergens@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Board Liaison: Laura Lee Wilson

 

Goals and Objectives

  1. Focus on a successful Outreach Retreat in 2021 by exploring an in-person/virtual model in hopes of increasing participation in the division.
  2. Ensure a presence at the OLC Conference to tell the story and impact of Outreach in each community.
  3. Submit a program for all three conferences in 2021, plus Convention and Expo.