Small Libraries Division

Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Small Libraries Division represents the interests of small libraries in Ohio, and provides a forum for administrators, staff members, and trustees to discuss issues of particular concern to small libraries.

Action Council

Tara Sidwell, Coordinator (2022)
Kate Love Simpson-Morgan County Library
Work: 740-962-2533
tsidwell@seolibraries.org

Amee Sword, Assistant Coordinator (2022)
Wornstaff Memorial Public Library
Work: 740-747-2085
asword@wornstafflibrary.com

Brenda Miller, Secretary (2022)
New Madison Public Library
Work: 937-996-1741
brenda@mynmpl.org

Daphne Silchuk-Ashcraft, Past Coordinator (2022)
Orrville Public Library
Work: 330-683-1065
dsashcraft@orrville.lib.oh.us

Shannon Featheringill (2023)
Seneca East Public Library
Work: (419) 426-3825
feathesh@senecaeastlibrary.org

Brock Hutchison (2023)
Louisville Public Library
Work: 330-875-1696
brock.hutchison@louisvillelibrary.org

Doug Walsh (2022)
St. Clairsville Public Library
Work: 740-695-2062 612
dwalsh@stclibrary.org

Kathy Zappitello (2022)
Conneaut Public Library
Work: 440-593-1608
kathy.zappitello@conneaut.lib.oh.us

Board Liaison: Melissa Marolt
PDC Liaison: Luke Bentley
Staff Liaison: Michelle Francis

 

GoalsĀ and Objectives

1) Explore more effective ways to inform and support small libraries throughout the state.

  • Action Council will meet quarterly or as needed.
  • Provide current information to introduce Small Libraries Division at New Directors Workshop.
  • Schedule quarterly (virtual) Small Library Director forum/meetings.
  • Promote the (virtual) Director Forums to attract more small library attendees.
  • Plan a specialized discussion topic at each forum.
  • Create a Small Library Survey (2022).
  • Update the Small Libraries Division tri-fold brochure.

2) Offer programs on topics of interest to small libraries at the 2022 Convention and Expo and standalone conferences.

  • Submit a proposal for a small libraries Director roundtable
  • Continue collaboration with other OLC Divisions and Committees to gear program topics toward small libraries.
  • Utilize information gathered from Small Library Survey for future program and forum topics of interest.

3) Discuss and potentially redefine the definition of small library.

Annual Report (PDF)