Professional Development Committee

Education and EventsMission, Vision, Strategies | Goals and Objectives

The Professional Development Committee (PDC) supports the Ohio Library Council’s educational programs through research into areas such as core competencies and trends in the delivery of education, and recommends the development of programs focused on emerging topics of interest and concern to the library community.

Committee Members

Luke Bentley, Chair (2022)
Briggs Lawrence County Public Library
Work: 740-533-0363 x1
lbentley@briggslibrary.org

Jennifer Buch, Assistant Chair (2022)
Sandusky Library
Work: 419-625-3834
jbuch@sanduskylib.org

Stephanie Freas (2024)
Muskingum County Library System
Work: 740-453-0391
stephanie@muskingumlibrary.org

Bobbi Galvin (2024)
Licking County Library
740-344-2155 602
bgalvin@lickingcountylibrary.org

Shelly Guerrero (2024)
Toledo Lucas County Public Library
Work: 419-259-5230
shelly.guerrero@toledolibrary.org

Rachel Gut (2024)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: 937-496-8858
rgut@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Katy Hite (2022)
Delaware County District Library
Work: 740-363-7277
khite@delawarelibrary.org

Erin Kelsey (2022)
State Library of Ohio
Work: 614-644-6889
ekelsey@library.ohio.gov

Maggie Killman (2022)
Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library
Work: 513-369-6944
maggie.killman@cincinnatilibrary.org

Stefani Leming (2024)
Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library
Work: 513-665-2850
stefanileming@gmail.com

Molly McGirr Norris (2022)
Rocky River Public Library
Work: 440-333-7610 3767
m.mcgirrnorris@rrpl.org

Brandon Thomas (2022)
Columbus Metropolitan Library
Work: 614-645-2275
bthomas@columbuslibrary.org

Sarah Wyatt (2022)
Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library
Work: 513-369-4467
sarah.wyatt@cincinnatilibrary.org

Board Liaison: Sarah Clevidence
Staff Liaison: Laurie Miller

Goal and Objectives

(1) Call for and oversee three standalone conferences and Convention & Expo for 2021. Our goal is for these events to be held in person, however, we want them to take place virtually if need be. The conferences will have the following foci:

  • Adult Services and Reference Services
  • Library Management and Leadership
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

(2) Provide support for conference and Convention and Expo planning committee members throughout the planning process, including but not limited to targeting programming toward OLC’s Core Competencies.

(3) Actively promote and advertise certification.

Annual Report (PDF)