Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof Receives Andrew Carnegie Award

Obhof and Kuonen photo

Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) accepts the Andrew Carnegie Award from Cheryl Kuonen, Chair of the Ohio Library Council’s Board of Directors and Executive Director of the Mentor Public Library.

The Ohio Library Council (OLC) continues its tradition of recognizing individuals who support Ohio’s public libraries and advocate on their behalf in the state legislature. Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) has been named the recipient of the Andrew Carnegie Award for his unwavering support of Ohio’s public libraries.


“President Obhof has been a champion for public libraries and has recognized the essential role they play in communities across the state,” said Michelle Francis, OLC’s Executive Director. “He was instrumental in ensuring public library funding in the last state budget and worked to secure $18.3 million in CARES Act funds so that libraries could continue to provide services and operate safely during the pandemic. President Obhof’s commitment to quality public library service in Ohio exemplifies the true spirit of Andrew Carnegie, the father of the modern public library.”


Senator Obhof was recognized today and presented with the award at the Medina County District Library.


photo of Kuntzman, Obhof and Bedel with family tree.

Lauren Kuntzman (left) Family History & Learning Center Manager at Medina County District Library (MCDL) shows Senator Obhof his family tree which she traced back five generations to Ellis Island. Also pictured is Julianne Bedel, Director of MCDL.

“It’s an honor to receive this award from the Ohio Library Council and to spend some time today at the Medina County District Library, whose innovative programs are providing services like mobile WiFi hotspots and educational opportunities for children and adults,” Obhof said. “I appreciate the support and resources our libraries provide to Ohio’s families and businesses.”


About the Andrew Carnegie Award
This award is presented to government officials who have exhibited outstanding support of public libraries and their efforts to assure quality public library services to all Ohioans. Previous recipients of this award include Governors, Ohio House Speakers, Ohio Senate Presidents and members of the General Assembly. The award is named after Andrew Carnegie, who spent much of his wealth on establishing thousands of public libraries in the United States, including 111 in Ohio.

Francis, Obhof, and Smith stand in library entry photo

Pictured inside the Medina County District Library (from left): Michelle Francis, OLC’s Executive Director, Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof, and OLC’s Director of Government and Legal Services Jay Smith.