OLC Announces 2019 Awards and Honors Recipients


The Ohio Library Council continues its tradition of honoring the best and brightest individuals and organizations in the Ohio library community through its Awards and Honors program. The following 2019 honorees have demonstrated outstanding leadership and remarkable dedication to providing exceptional library service to their communities.


Hall of Fame Librarian:
Alan Hall, Retired Director, Public Library of Steubenville and Jefferson County


Librarian of the Year:
Jeff Winkle, Director, Findlay-Hancock County Public Library


Service Excellence Award:
Grace Walker, Youth Services Assistant, Pickerington Public Library


Trustee/Board of Trustees Award of Achievement:
Barbara Denison, Trustee, Washington-Centerville Public Library


John Philip Outreach Award:
Stephanie Brown and Brittany Labinger, Library Outreach, Lorain Public Library System


Diana Vescelius Emerging Leader Award:
Pamela Brockway, Early Learning Team Leader, Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County


Library Innovation Award:
Andrea Francis, West Toledo Branch Manager, Toledo Lucas County Public Library, Grandparent Project


Citizen of the Year:
Doug Evans, Retired Executive Director, Ohio Library Council


The award winners will be recognized during a special ceremony and luncheon on Wed., Sept. 25 during the 2019 Convention and Expo at the Duke Energy Convention Center in Cincinnati. All members are invited to attend the Awards and Honors Luncheon. Registration information is available on the Convention and Expo website.