2021 OLC Elections: Meet the Candidates

OLC MEMBERS: Your opportunity to vote in the OLC’s 2021 elections will run from June 30 through July 30. OLC members will elect five members to the OLC Board of Directors, including one MLIS position, one library trustee position, and three at-large positions, as well as Ohio’s Councilor to the American Library Association (ALA).

A link to your ballot was sent to your preferred e-mail address on June 30. Biographical information and candidate position statements will are included with your online ballot.

If you are a member of an OLC Division, you will have the opportunity to vote for your respective action council members. You will receive a ballot for each Division in which you are a member.

In order to cast your vote, you must enter your username (Voter ID) and password (Voter Key) provided in the e-mail. If you have questions about voting, contact the OLC office at 614-410-8092.


The OLC is pleased to announce the following slate of candidates for election to three-year terms on the OLC’s Board of Directors (terms begin January 2022).

Board Candidates:

MLIS Director [one to be elected]:

William Rutger, Avon Lake Public Library
Laura Lee Wilson, Huron County Community Library, Incumbent

photo of Rutger and Wilson

Library Trustee Director [one to be elected]:
Jed Grisez, Trustee, Archbold Community Library
Richard Rubin, Trustee, Cuyahoga Falls Public Library, Incumbent

photo of Grisez and Rubin


At-Large Director [one to be elected]:
Aimee Fifarek, Public Library of Youngstown-Mahoning County, Incumbent
Beth Steiner, Auglaize County Public District Library System

photo of Fifarek and Steiner

At-Large Director [one to be elected]:
Stephanie Buchanan, Bucyrus Public Library
Cheryl Kuonen, Mentor Public Library, Incumbent

photo of Buchanan and Kuonen


At-Large Director [one to be elected]:
Roger Donaldson, Jackson City Library
Jennifer Slone, Chillicothe & Ross County Public Library, Incumbent

photo of Donaldson and Slone

Ohio’s Councilor to the American Library Association (ALA):

ALA Councilor [one to be elected]:
Andrew Mangels, Westlake Porter Public Library
Nick Tepe, Athens County Public Libraries

photo of Mangels and Tepe