Outreach and Special Services Division

Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Outreach and Special Services Division identifies outreach opportunities and best practices for serving populations outside the library including institutionalized and disadvantaged groups, people with disabilities as well as seniors and children.

Recent Newsletters

Speakers Bureau StoryWalk®
Color Yourself Calm Library Link Program
Books Outside the Building Younger to Older Patrons
Bookmobile to Branch Incentive Partnership with YMCA
Storytimes at the Farmer’s Market Bookmobile Stops

Action Council

Gabrielle Rathge, Coordinator (2022)
Worthington Libraries
Work: 614-807-2643
grathge@worthingtonlibraries.org

Alice Mackey, Assistant Coordinator (2022)
Delaware County District Library
Work: 740-549-2665
amackey@delawarelibrary.org

Laura O’Neil, Secretary (2022)
Athens County Public Libraries
Work: 740-737-6009
loneil@myacpl.org

Ann Plazek, Past Coordinator (2022)
Medina County District Library
Work: 330-722-2490
plazek@mcdl.info

Jennifer Downing (2022)
Upper Arlington Public Library
Work: 614-486-9621 x128
jdowning@ualibrary.org

Camee Hart (2024)
Dayton Metro Library
chart@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Linda Toohey (2023)
Dover Public Library
Work: 330-343-6123
ltoohey@doverlibrary.org

Grace Walker (2023)
Pickerington Public Library
Work: 614-837-4104 x231
gwalker@pickeringtonlibrary.org

 

Board Liaison: Laura Lee Wilson
PDC Liaison: Molly McGirr Norris
Staff Liaison: Laurie Miller

Goals and Objectives

  1. Focus on the Outreach Retreat in August 2022, with the goal of increasing participation within the Division.
  2. Increase communication with and among the members of the Division.
  3. Create a brochure for the Division.

Annual Report (PDF)

Outreach Tools

Home Visit Safety Guidelines (PDF)
Safety precautions for library staff delivering materials off-site.

Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services (ABOS)
The mission of ABOS is to support and encourage government officials, library administrators, trustees and staff in the provision of quality bookmobile and outreach services to meet diverse community information and programming needs. Each year, the ABOS conference committee creates a dynamic conference for library and outreach staff designed to provide training, practical knowledge, leadership, and many networking opportunities.

ALA Outreach Toolkits
The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services (ODLOS) and its member groups have developed a variety of resources, most of which are free to the profession.