Outreach and Special Services Division

Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Outreach and Special Services Division identifies outreach opportunities and best practices for serving populations outside the library including institutionalized and disadvantaged groups, people with disabilities as well as seniors and children.


Action Council

Alice Mackey, Coordinator (2023)
Delaware County District Library
Work: 740-549-2665
amackey@delawarelibrary.org

Grace Walker, Assistant Coordinator (2023)
Pickerington Public Library
Work: 614-837-4104  x. 231
gwalker@pickeringtonlibrary.org

Camee Hart, Secretary (2023)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: 937-496-8860
chart@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Gabrielle Rathge, Past Coordinator (2023)
Worthington Libraries
Work: 614-807-2643
grathge@worthingtonlibraries.org

Lacy Bartley (2024)
Tuscarawas County Public Library
Work: 330-364-4474 242
lbartley@tusclibrary.org

Jennifer Downing (2023)
Upper Arlington Public Library
Work: 614-486-9621 128
jdowning@ualibrary.org 12/31/2023

Ashley Gahm (2024)
Westerville Public Library
Work: 614-259-5034
agahm@westervillelibrary.org

Linda Toohey (2023)
Dover Public Library
Work: 330-343-6123
ltoohey@doverlibrary.org

Board Liaison: Tom Dillie
PDC Liaison: Rachel Gut
Staff Liaison: Laurie Miller

Goals and Objectives

  1. Increase communication within the membership by hosting quarterly outreach coffee chats via Zoom.
  2.  Plan a successful retreat with increased participation.
  3. Submit program proposals to Convention and Expo and stand-alone conferences in 2023.

Annual Report (PDF)

Outreach Tools

Home Visit Safety Guidelines (PDF)
Safety precautions for library staff delivering materials off-site.

Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services (ABOS)
The mission of ABOS is to support and encourage government officials, library administrators, trustees and staff in the provision of quality bookmobile and outreach services to meet diverse community information and programming needs. Each year, the ABOS conference committee creates a dynamic conference for library and outreach staff designed to provide training, practical knowledge, leadership, and many networking opportunities.

ALA Outreach Toolkits
The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services (ODLOS) and its member groups have developed a variety of resources, most of which are free to the profession.

Newsletter Archive

Speakers Bureau StoryWalk®
Color Yourself Calm Library Link Program
Books Outside the Building Younger to Older Patrons
Bookmobile to Branch Incentive Partnership with YMCA
Storytimes at the Farmer’s Market Bookmobile Stops