Intellectual Freedom Committee

Committee MembersGoals and Objectives

The Intellectual Freedom Committee is responsible for maintaining OLC’s policies on intellectual freedom and for offering guidance for specific Ohio problems, works with other committees and the OLC Board of Directors as the need arises, and maintains communication and interaction with other groups whose objectives parallel those of OLC in the area of intellectual freedom.

Intellectual Freedom Resources

Committee Members

Ashley Vassar, Chair (2024)
Columbus Metropolitan Library
Work: 614-645-2275

Meredith Wickham, Assistant Chair (2024)
Southwest Public Libraries
Work: 614-875-6716  x. 119

Jennifer Farrell, Past Chair (2023)
Huron County Community Library
Work: 419-933-8564  x. 1001

Kacie Armstrong (2025)
Euclid Public Library
Work: 216-261-5300  x. 5101

Megan Del Corso (2025)
Stark County District Library
Work: 330-458-2832

Ariel Johnson (2025)
Mentor Public Library
Work: 440-255-8811

Randy Ebert (2025)
Public Library of Youngstown & Mahoning County
Work: 330-744-8636  x. 51658

Jonathan Harris (2023)
Portage County District Library
Work: 330-527-5082  x. 219

Jennifer Starkey (2025)
Elyria Public Library
Work: 440-323-5747

Board Liaison: Julianne Bedel
PDC Liaison: Bobbi Galvin
Staff Liaison: Jay Smith


Purpose and Objectives

  • Provide an online learning webinar for members.
  • Submit sessions for the OLC’s 2023 Convention and Expo and Youth Service Conference.
  • Promote and engage new membership for the committee.
  • Submit a Year-In-Review program that brings real-time Intellectual Freedom issues to life.

Annual Report (PDF)