OLC Board Appoints New Sec.-Treas. and ALA Councilor; Refers Board Appointment to Nominations Committee

At its meeting on Sept. 15, the OLC Board of Directors accepted the resignation of Don Yarman, former Deputy Director of the Delaware County District Public Library, who has been appointed Executive Director of OPLIN effective Oct. 1. Yarman’s resignation requires the Board to appoint a new member to fulfill the remainder his current term (through Dec. 2017) as well as the three-year term (Jan. 2018 – Dec. 2020) to which he was re-elected in this summer’s elections. The Board has asked the Nominations Committee to recommend potential appointees. The Board will take action on the Committee’s recommendation in October.

Yarman’s resignation also vacated the OLC’s Secretary-Treasurer position for the remainder of 2017. Suzanne Cline, Director of the Shelby County Libraries, was appointed to fill the position through December 2017.

Also at Friday’s meeting, Meg Delaney, Manager of the Main Library for the Toledo Lucas County Public Library, was appointed Ohio’s Councilor to the American Library Association. She replaces former ALA Councilor Jamie Mason, Director of the Rocky River Public Library, whose resignation was accepted at the meeting. Delaney will serve as ALA Councilor through December 2018, representing Ohio’s public, school, and academic librarians at ALA Council meetings at the 2018 Midwinter Meeting in Denver and Annual Conference in New Orleans.