Teen Services Division

 Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Teen Services Division advocates for teens and supports library professionals in their mission to grow and strengthen services to teens.

James Cook Book Award:  Celebrating Diversity in Teen Literature

The Teen Services Division of OLC created the James Cook Book Award: Celebrating Diversity in Teen Literature in 2007. This award recognizes a book that promotes and celebrates cultural, ethnic, or social diversity. Nominations for the 2017 James Cook Book Award are closed. Watch this page for the announcement of the 2017 award winners.

 

Action Council

Mary Balog, Coordinator (2017)
Hudson Library and Historical Society
Work: (330) 653-6658  x1032
E-Mail: mary.balog@hudson.lib.oh.us

Rikki Unterbrink, Assistant Coordinator (2017)
Shelby County Libraries
Work: (937) 492-8354
E-Mail: rikkiu@sclmail.org

Sarah Rosenberger, Secretary (2017)
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Work: (330) 643-9186
E-Mail: srosenberger@akronlibrary.org

Sarah Amazing, Past Coordinator (2017)
Warren-Trumbull County Public Library
Work: (330) 399-8807 x159
E-Mail: amazings@wtcpl.org

Kim Alberts (2018)
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Work: (330) 643-4703
E-Mail: kalberts@akronlibrary.org

Sarah Granville (2017)
Barberton Pubic Library
Work: (330) 745-1194
E-Mail: sarah.granville@barbertonlibrary.org

Gina Kromhout (2018)
Avon Lake Public Libary
Work: (440) 933-8128
E-Mail: gkromhout@avonlake.lib.oh.us

Kristin Wilson (2017)
Loudonville Public Library
Work: (419) 994-5531
E-Mail: kwilson@loudonvillelibrary.org

Board Liaison: Sandi Thompson

 

Goals and Objectives

  1. Create more opportunities for all OLC members to improve their reader’s advisory skills to their teen patrons.
  2. Enhance the Teen Services Division web content through the creation of a podcast and editing of the program packet to include new content.
  3. Celebrate the Teen Services Division members at 2017 Convention and Expo.
  4. Create a lasting legacy to James Cook with the creation of The James Cook Memory Project, featuring information about the award, James Cook, and inviting others to join in this endeavor.