Teen Services Division

 Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Teen Services Division advocates for teens and supports library professionals in their mission to grow and strengthen services to teens.

James Cook Book Award:  Celebrating Diversity in Teen Literature

The Teen Services Division of OLC created the James Cook Book Award: Celebrating Diversity in Teen Literature in 2007. This award recognizes a book that promotes and celebrates cultural, ethnic, or social diversity.

Action Council

Rikki Unterbrink, Coordinator (2018)
Shelby County Libraries
Work: 937-492-8354 Ext. 111
E-Mail: rikkiu@sclmail.org

Sarah Rosenberger, Assistant Coordinator (2018)
Cleveland Hts.-University Hts. Public Library
Work: 216-932-3600
E-Mail: srosenbe@heightslibrary.org

Kristin Wilson, Secretary (2018)
Loudonville Public Library
Work: 419-994-5531
E-Mail: kwilson@loudonvillelibrary.org

Mary Balog, Past Coordinator (2018)
Geauga County Public Library
Work: 440-543-5611 Ext. 2539
E-Mail: mbalog@geaugalibrary.net

Kim Alberts (2018)
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Work: 330-643-4703
E-Mail: kalberts@akronlibrary.org

Jennifer Coventry (2019)
Wadsworth Public Library
Work: 330-334-5761
E-Mail: jennifer.coventry@wadsworthlibrary.com

Gina Kromhout (2018)
Avon Lake Public Libary
Work: 440-933-8128
E-Mail: gkromhout@avonlake.lib.oh.us

Caitlynn Melick (2019)
Muskingum County Library System
Work: 740-453-0391 Ext. 153
E-Mail: caitlynn@muskingumlibrary.org

Suzie Muniak (2019)
Medina County District Library
Work: 330-273-4150 Ext. 2101
E-Mail: muniak@mcdl.info

Board Liaison: Deborah DuBois
PDC Liaisons: Luke Bentley, Shannon Titas

 

Goals and Objectives

  1. Create more opportunities for all OLC members to improve their reader’s advisory skills to their teen patrons.
  2. Enhance the Teen Services Division web content through the creation of a podcast and editing of the program packet to include new content.
  3. Celebrate the Teen Services Division members at 2018 Convention and Expo.
  4. Create a lasting legacy to James Cook with the creation of The James Cook Memory Project, featuring information about the award, James Cook, and inviting others to join in this endeavor.