Small Libraries Division

Action Council | Goals and Objectives

The Small Libraries Division represents the interests of small libraries in Ohio, and provides a forum for administrators, staff members, and trustees to discuss issues of particular concern to small libraries.

Action Council

Daphne Silchuk-Ashcraft, Coordinator (2021)
Orrville Public Library
Work: 330-683-1065
dsashcraft@orrville.lib.oh.us

Brenda Miller, Assistant Coordinator (2021)
New Madison Public Library
Work: 937-996-1741
brenda@mynmpl.org

Kathleen Webb, Secretary (2021)
Marvin Memorial Library
Work: 419-347-5576 x303
kwebb@marvinlibrary.org

Nicole Baker, Past Coordinator (2021)
St. Paris Public Library
Work: 937-663-4349
director@stparislibrary.org

Tara Sidwell (2021)
Kate Love Simpson-Morgan County Library
Work: 740-962-2533
tsidwell@seolibraries.org

Doug Walsh (2022)
St. Clairsville Public Library
Work: 740-695-2062 x612
dwalsh@stclibrary.org

Kathy Zappitello (2022)
Conneaut Public Library
Work: 440-593-1608
kathy.zappitello@conneaut.lib.oh.us

Board Liaison: Tom Dillie
PDC Liaison: Luke Bentley
Staff Liaison: Michelle Francis

 

GoalsĀ and Objectives

1) Explore more effective ways to inform and support small libraries throughout the state.

  • Introduce Small Libraries Division at New Directors Workshop
  • Promote the Administrator Forums to attract more attendees.
  • Have a specialized discussion topic at each forum.
  • Choose five strategic locations around the state to make it as convenient as possible for administrators to attend.
  • Make one site a telecommunications location.
  • Monthly/Quarterly virtual meetings available for Small Library Directors.
  • Assign a topic for each meeting.
  • Develop more content for the OLC Small Libraries Division web page.
  • Update the Small Libraries Division trifold brochure.

2) Offer programs on topics of interest to small libraries at the 2021 Convention and Expo and standalone conferences.

  • Propose a small libraries Director roundtable lunch and learn.
  • Continue collaboration with other OLC Divisions and Committees to gear program topics toward small libraries.
  • Investigate the possibility of holding programs aimed at small libraries on a specific day to make it more convenient for small library Directors and staff who can only attend one day of Convention and Expo.


Small Libraries Division Blog