Intellectual Freedom Committee

Committee MembersGoals and Objectives

The Intellectual Freedom Committee is responsible for maintaining OLC’s policies on intellectual freedom and for offering guidance for specific Ohio problems, works with other committees and the OLC Board of Directors as the need arises, and maintains communication and interaction with other groups whose objectives parallel those of OLC in the area of intellectual freedom.

Intellectual Freedom Resources
Includes toolkits, important links, educational games and more.

Check us out on Twitter @OLCIF!

 

Committee Members

Kaya Burgin, Chair (2018)
Westerville Public Library
Work: (614) 882-7277  x2125
E-Mail: kburgin@westervillelibrary.org

Chris Thompson (2019)
Delaware County District Library
Work: (740) 549-2665
E-Mail: cthompson@delawarelibrary.org

Megan Chrusciel (2019)
Westerville Public Libary
Work: (614) 882-7277 x2187
E-Mail: mchrusciel@westervillelibrary.org

Jennifer Coventry (2020)
Wadsworth Public Library
Work: (330) 334-5761  x257
E-Mail: jennifer.coventry@wadsworthlibrary.com

Jennifer Farrell (2020)
Huron County Community Library
Work: (419)933-8564 x1001
E-Mail: jfarrell@huroncolib.org

Matthew Kish (2018)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8524
E-Mail: mkish@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Mark Roma (2019)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8700
E-Mail: mroma@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Lyndsey Wasio (2019)
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Work: (330) 643-9000
E-Mail: lwasio@akronlibrary.org

Board Liaison: Kacie Armstrong
PDC Liaisons: Sarah Hintz, Julie Retherford

 

Purpose and Objectives

  • Create an Intellectual Freedom Training Video for OLC’s website.
  • Modify IF committee’s web presence on OLC’s website.
  • Continue to assess committee members’ strengths.
  • Develop and submit poster and program proposals for the 2018 Convention and Expo.
  • Engage with other OLC Committees and Divisions to provide for professional development opportunities.
  • Promote Banned Books Week 2018.
  • Promote intellectual freedom through regular contributions to Access, Twitter and other viable means.
  • Continue to offer intellectual freedom training sessions or educational presentations to member libraries and other organizations as requested.

Banned Books Week Video