Intellectual Freedom Committee

Committee MembersGoals and Objectives | Banned Books Week Video

The Intellectual Freedom Committee is responsible for maintaining OLC’s policies on intellectual freedom and for offering guidance for specific Ohio problems, works with other committees and the OLC Board of Directors as the need arises, and maintains communication and interaction with other groups whose objectives parallel those of OLC in the area of intellectual freedom.

Check us out on Twitter @OLCIF!

 

Committee Members

Isabel Klein, Chair (2017)
Hudson Library and Historical Society
Work: (330) 653-6658
E-Mail: isabel.klein@hudson.lib.oh.us

Kaya Burgin, Assistant Chair (2018)
Westerville Public Library
Work: (614) 882-7277  x2125
E-Mail: kburgin@westervillelibrary.org

Jennifer Coventry (2017)
Wadsworth Public Library
Work: (330) 334-5761  x257

Megan Chrusciel (2019)
Westerville Public Libary
Work: (614) 882-7277
E-Mail: mchrusciel@westervillelibrary.org

Matthew Kish (2018)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8524
E-Mail: mkish@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Shayna Muckerheide (2017)
Cleveland Public Library
Work: (216) 623-7012
E-Mail: smuckerheide@cpl.org

Chris Thompson (2019)
Delaware County District Library
Work: (740) 549-2665
E-Mail: cthompson@delawarelibrary.org

Lyndsey Williams (2019)
Twinsburg Public Library
Work: (330) 425-4268 x112
E-Mail: lwilliams@twinsburglibrary.org

Board Liaison: Nick Tepe

 

Purpose and Objectives

  • Create an Intellectual Freedom Training Video for OLC’s website.
  • Modify IF committee’s web presence on OLC’s website.
  • Continue to assess committee members’ strengths.
  • Develop and submit poster and program proposals for the 2017 Convention and Expo.
  • In preparation of 2018, engage with other committees and divisions to provide for professional development opportunities.
  • Promote Banned Books Week 2017.
  • Promote intellectual freedom through regular contributions to Access, Twitter and other viable means.
  • Continue to offer intellectual freedom training sessions or educational presentations to member libraries and other organizations as requested.