Intellectual Freedom Committee

Committee MembersGoals and Objectives

The Intellectual Freedom Committee is responsible for maintaining OLC’s policies on intellectual freedom and for offering guidance for specific Ohio problems, works with other committees and the OLC Board of Directors as the need arises, and maintains communication and interaction with other groups whose objectives parallel those of OLC in the area of intellectual freedom.

Intellectual Freedom Resources
Includes toolkits, important links, educational games and more.

Check us out on Twitter @OLCIF!

 

Committee Members

Jennifer Farrell, Chair (2020)
Huron County Community Library
Work: (419) 933-8564 x 1001
E-Mail: jfarrell@huroncolib.org

Becky Woodruff, Assistant Chair (2022)
Delaware County District Library
Work: (740) 549-2665
E-Mail: bwoodruff@delawarelibrary.org

Chris Thompson, Past Chair (2020)
Delaware County District Library
Work: (740) 549-2665
E-Mail: cthompson@delawarelibrary.org

Ashley Balay (2022)
Licking County Library
Work: (740) 349-5500 x 434
E-Mail: aevassar@gmail.com

Jennifer Coventry (2020)
Wadsworth Public Library
Work: (330) 335-1299
E-Mail: jennifer.coventry@wadsworthlibrary.com

Matthew Kish (2020)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8524
E-Mail: mkish@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Coleman Mahler (2020)
Worthington Libraries
Work: (614) 807-2626
E-Mail: cmahler@worthingtonlibraries.org

Mark Roma (2020)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8700 x 8700
E-Mail: mroma@daytonmetrolibrary.org

Chad Statler (2022)
Porter Public Library
Work: (440) 871-2600
E-Mail: chad.statler@westlakelibrary.org

Board Liaison: Kacie Armstrong
PDC Liaisons: Sarah Hintz, Leann Schneider Webb

 

Purpose and Objectives

  • Continue to offer intellectual freedom training sessions or educational presentations to member libraries and other organizations as requested.
  • Promote intellectual freedom through contributions to Twitter, Access, and other viable means.
  • Create Feedly to assist with Twitter.
  • Develop and submit program proposals for OLC 2020 Convention and Expo, Facilities Conference, Safety Conference, and Community Engagement Conference.
  • Create and disseminate intellectual freedom themed bookmarks.
  • Promote Banned Books Week 2019.
  • Recruit new members to join committee.

Annual Report (PDF)