Government Relations Committee

Committee Members | Purpose and Objectives

The Government Relations Committee develops the OLC legislative platform, analyzes legislative issues that could potentially Ohio’s public libraries and the customers they serve, and advises staff the advocacy strategy to serve the best interest of Ohio’s public library community.

 

Committee Members

Molly Carver, Chair (2018)
Sandusky Library
Work: (419) 625-3834
E-Mail: mcarver@sanduskylib.org

Kimber Fender, Vice Chair (2020)
Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
Work: (513) 369-6900
E-Mail: kim.fender@cincinnatilibrary.org

Anastasia Diamond-Ortiz (2020)
Lorain Public Library
Work: (440) 244-1192
E-Mail: adiamond-ortiz@lpls.info

Thomas Adkins (2019)
Garnet A. Wilson Public Library of Pike County
Work: (740) 947-4921
E-Mail: tadkins@seolibraries.org

Karl Colon (2018)
Greene County Public Library
Work: (937) 736-7051
E-Mail: kcolon@gcpl.lib.oh.us

Pamela Hickson-Stevenson (2018)
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Work: (330) 643-9102
E-Mail: pstevenson@akronlibrary.org

Chris May (2020)
Mansfield/Richland County Public Library
Work: (419)521-3127
E-Mail: cmay@mrcpl.org

Justin Mayo (2020)
Washington County Public Library
Work: (740) 373-1057
E-Mail: j.mayo@wcplib.info

Ryan McDonnell (2018)
Grandview Hts. Public Library
Work: (614) 481-3776
E-Mail: rmcdonnell@ghpl.org

Nieca Nowels (2018)
Marysville Public Library
Work: (937) 642-1876
E-Mail: nnowels@marysvillelib.org

Michael Penrod (2018)
Wood County District Public Library
Work: (419) 353-9506 x224
E-Mail: michaelpenrod@wcdpl.org

Eric Taggart (2018)
Rodman Public Library
Work: (330) 821-2665 x201
E-Mail: etaggart@rodmanlibrary.com

Felton Thomas (2020)
Cleveland Public Library
Work: (216) 623-2827
E-Mail: felton.thomas@cpl.org

Jim Wilkins (2018)
Warren-Trumbull County Public Library
Work: (330) 399-8807 x124
E-Mail: wilkinsj@wtcpl.org

Ex-Officio Members

Beverly Cain
State Library of Ohio
Work: (614) 644-6843
E-Mail: bcain@library.ohio.gov

Bill Morris
State Library of Ohio
Work: (614) 728-5118
E-Mail: wmorris@library.ohio.gov

Don Yarman
OPLIN
Work: (614) 728-5252
E-Mail: don@oplin.ohio.gov

Board Liaison: Andrew Mangels

 

Purpose and Objectives

The primary function of the Government Relations Committee is to serve in the best interest of Ohio’s public library community in regards to all legal and legislative matters.

To that end, the GRC:

  • Maintains a legislative network to work with library directors around the state to ensure a complete and consistent local grassroots advocacy effort.
  • Monitors and examines all information that has the potential to impact the Public Library Fund, supporting any issue that would increase state funding for public libraries.
  • Makes recommendations to the Ohio Library Council Board of Directors regarding legislation to be submitted to the Ohio General Assembly.
  • Explores collaboration opportunities that will lead to more efficient and effective public library service.
  • Strongly supports the State Library of Ohio and OPLIN and their efforts to provide services to Ohio’s public libraries.
  • Reviews proposed changes to the Ohio Public Employee Retirement System (OPERS), supporting legislation which ensures stability of the fund while maintaining fair benefit levels, and communicating as much information as possible regarding OPERS to all OLC members.