Government Relations Committee

Committee Members | Purpose and Objectives

The Government Relations Committee develops the OLC legislative platform, analyzes legislative issues that could potentially Ohio’s public libraries and the customers they serve, and advises staff the advocacy strategy to serve the best interest of Ohio’s public library community.

 

Committee Members

Kimber Fender, Chair (2017)
Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
Work: (513) 369-6900
E-Mail: kim.fender@cincinnatilibrary.org

Thomas Adkins (2019)
Garnet A. Wilson Public Library of Pike County
Work: (740) 947-4921
E-Mail: tadkins@seolibraries.org

Molly Carver (2018)
Sandusky Library
Work: (419) 625-3834
E-Mail: mcarver@sanduskylib.org

Karl Colon (2018)
Greene County Public Library
Work: (937) 736-7051
E-Mail: kcolon@gcpl.lib.oh.us

Nancy Currie (2017)
Madison Public Library
Work: (440) 428-2189 x204
E-Mail: ncurrie@madison-library.info

Heidi Daniel (2018)
Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County
Work: (330) 744-8636
E-Mail: hdaniel@libraryvisit.org

Tim Hagen (2018)
Ida Rupp Public Library
Work: (419) 732-3212
E-Mail: thagen@seolibraries.org

Pamela Hickson-Stevenson (2018)
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Work: (330) 643-9102
E-Mail: pstevenson@akronlibrary.org

Justin Mayo (2017)
Washington County Public Library
Work: (740) 373-1057 x223
E-Mail: j.mayo@wcplib

Nieca Nowels (2018)
Marysville Public Library
Work: (937) 642-1876
E-Mail: nnowels@marysvillelib.org

Joseph Palmer (2017)
Mansfield-Richland County Public Library
Work: (419) 521-3124
E-Mail: jpalmer@mrcpl.org

Michael Penrod (2018)
Wood County District Public Library
Work: (419) 353-9506 x224
E-Mail: michaelpenrod@wcdpl.org

Rachel Rubin (2018)
Bexley Public Library
Work: (614) 231-9709
E-Mail: rrubin@bexleylibrary.org

William Rutger (2017)
Ashland Public Library
Work: (419) 289-8188 x17
E-Mail: wrutger@ashland.lib.oh.us

Eric Taggart (2018)
Coshocton Public Library
Work: (740) 622-0956
E-Mail: etaggart@coshoctonlibrary.org

Felton Thomas (2017)
Cleveland Public Library
Work: (216) 623-2827
E-Mail: felton.thomas@cpl.org

Ex-Officio Members

Beverly Cain
State Library of Ohio
Work: (614) 644-6843
E-Mail: bcain@library.ohio.gov

Stephen Hedges
OPLIN
Work: (614) 728-5252
E-Mail: hedgesst@oplin.org

Bill Morris
State Library of Ohio
Work: (614) 728-5118
E-Mail: wmorris@library.ohio.gov

Board Liaison: Jeff Winkle

 

Purpose and Objectives

The primary function of the Government Relations Committee is to serve in the best interest of Ohio’s public library community in regards to all legal and legislative matters.

To that end, the GRC:

  • Maintains a legislative network to work with library directors around the state to ensure a complete and consistent local grassroots advocacy effort.
  • Monitors and examines all information that has the potential to impact the Public Library Fund, supporting any issue that would increase state funding for public libraries.
  • Makes recommendations to the Ohio Library Council Board of Directors regarding legislation to be submitted to the Ohio General Assembly.
  • Explores collaboration opportunities that will lead to more efficient and effective public library service.
  • Strongly supports the State Library of Ohio and OPLIN and their efforts to provide services to Ohio’s public libraries.
  • Reviews proposed changes to the Ohio Public Employee Retirement System (OPERS), supporting legislation which ensures stability of the fund while maintaining fair benefit levels, and communicating as much information as possible regarding OPERS to all OLC members.