Diversity Awareness and Resources Committee

Committee Members | Goals and Objectives

The Diversity Awareness & Resources Committee is responsible for recommending ways in which the OLC can address diversity as it relates to the library profession in general and to the Ohio library community. Aspects of diversity include but are not limited to age, disability, gender, religion, sexual orientation and ethnicity. Through training, speakers, workshops, and publications, the Committee serves as a resource on diversity to the OLC and its membership.

 

Committee Members

Ashley Gahm, Chair (2018)
Westerville Public Library
Work: (614) 882-7277 x2139
E-Mail: agahm@westervillelibrary.org

Madeline Corchado (2018)
Cleveland Public Library
Work: (216) 623-2892
E-Mail: madeline.corchado@cpl.org

Esther Birkey (2018)
Bluffton Pubic Library
Work: (419) 358-5016 x236
E-Mail: birkey@blufftonpubliclibrary.org

Sean Fennell (2018)
Muskingum County Library System
Work: (740) 453-0391  x121
E-Mail: seanf@muskingumlibrary.org

Andrea Fisher (2018)
Lakewood Public Library
Work: (216) 226-8275  x127
E-Mail: afisher@lakewoodpubliclibrary.org

Kathyrn Green (2020)
Tuscarawas County Public Library
Work: (330) 364-4474 x230
E-Mail: kgreen@tusclibrary.org

Faith Hairston (2018)
Toledo-Lucas County Public Library
Work: (419) 259-5340
E-Mail: faith.hairston@toledolibrary.org

Jennifer Hicks (2019)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8956
E-Mail: jghicks@daytometrolibrary.org

Board Liaison: Kacie Armstrong
PDC Liaisons: Tim Hagen, Evan Struble

 

Goals and Objectives

  • Expand presence at the OLC’s New Directors and Trustees programs.
  • Generate articles to include in OLC’s Access newsletter on a quarterly basis.
  • Create and sponsor programs for OLC conferences and the 2018 Convention and Expo.
  • Survey the membership to identify their specific needs.
  • Work on embedding a diversity initiative into all OLC Committees & Divisions.