Diversity Awareness and Resources Committee

Committee Members | Goals and Objectives

The Diversity Awareness & Resources Committee is responsible for recommending ways in which the OLC can address diversity as it relates to the library profession in general and to the Ohio library community. Aspects of diversity include but are not limited to age, disability, gender, religion, sexual orientation and ethnicity. Through training, speakers, workshops, and publications, the Committee serves as a resource on diversity to the OLC and its membership.

 

Committee Members

Madeline Corchado, Chair (2017)
Cleveland Public Library
Work: (216) 623-2892
E-Mail: madeline.corchado@cpl.org

Ashley Gahm, Assistant Chair (2017)
Marysville Public Library
Work: (937) 642-1876 x26
E-Mail: agahm@marysvillelib.org

Esther Birkey (2018)
Bluffton Pubic Library
Work: (419) 358-5016 x236
E-Mail: birkey@blufftonpubliclibrary.org

Miracle Elam (2017)
Greene County Public Library
E-Mail: melam@gcpl.lib.oh.us

Sean Fennell (2018)
Muskingum County Library System
Work: (740) 453-0391  x121
E-Mail: seanf@muskingumlibrary.org

Andrea Fisher (2018)
Lakewood Public Library
Work: (216) 226-8275  x127
E-Mail: afisher@lakewoodpubliclibrary.org

Faith Hairston
Toledo-Lucas County Public Library
Work: (419) 259-5340
E-Mail: faith.hairston@toledolibrary.org

Jennifer Hicks (2019)
Dayton Metro Library
Work: (937) 496-8956
E-Mail: jghicks@daytometrolibrary.org

Erik Johansen (2017)
Westerville Public Library
Work: (614) 882-7277 x2188
E-Mail: ejohansen@westervillelibrary.org

Board Liaison: Kacie Armstrong

 

Goals and Objectives

  • Maintain and possibly expand the presence created in 2015 at the OLC’s New Directors and Trustees programs in 2017.
  • Generate articles to include in OLC’s Access newsletter on a quarterly basis.
  • Continue generating and or sponsoring programs for Chapter Conferences and the 2017 Convention and Expo.
  • Survey the membership to identify their specific needs.
  • Work on embedding a diversity initiative into all OLC Committees & Divisions.