Home
Home > Divisions, Chapters, & Committees > Committees > Government Relations



Divisions

Chapters

Committees


Government Relations Committee

Committee Members

Kimber Fender, Chair (2014)
Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
Work: 513-369-6972
Email: kim.fender@cincinnatilibrary.org

Tom Adkins, Committee (2016)
Garnet A Wilson Public Library of Pike County
Work: 740-947-4921
Email: dirgaw@oplin.org

Beverly Cain, Ex Officio (2014)
State Library of Ohio
Work: 614-644-6843
Email: bcain@library.ohio.gov

Molly Carver, Committee (2016)
Bellevue Public Library
Work: 419-483-4769 x14
Email: mcarver@bellevue.lib.oh.us

Karl Colon, Committee (2015)
Greene County Public Library
Work: 937-352-4000 x1201
Email: kcolon@gcpl.lib.oh.us

Nancy Currie, Committee (2014)
Madison Public Library
Work: 440-428-2189
Email: ncurrie@madison-library.info

Heidi Daniel, Committee (2016)
Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County
Work: 330-744-8636
Email: hdaniel@libraryvisit.org

Tim Hagen, Committee (2015)
Tiffin-Seneca Public Library
Work: 419-447-3755
Email: hagenti@oplin.org

Stephen Hedges, Ex Officio (2014)
OPLIN
Work: 614-728-5252
Email: hedgesst@oplin.org

Pamela Hickson-Stevenson, Committee (2016)
Akron-Summit County Public Library
Work: 330-643-9102
Email: phs@akronlibrary.org

Patrick Losinski, Committee (2015)
Columbus Metro Library
Work: 614-849-1005
Email: plosinski@columbuslibrary.org

Justin Mayo, Committee (2014)
Washington County Public Library
Work: 740-373-1057 x223
Email: jjmayo@yahoo.com

Bill Morris, Ex Officio (2014)
State Library of Ohio
Work: 614-728-5118
Email: wmorris@library.ohio.gov

Joseph Palmer, Committee (2014)
Mansfield-Richland County Public Library
Work: 419-521-3124
Email: jpalmer@mrcpl.org

Michael Penrod, Committee (2015)
Wood County District Public Library
Work: 419-353-9506 x224
Email: michaelpenrod@wcdpl.org

Rachel Rubin, Committee (2015)
Bexley Public Library
Work: 614-231-9709
Email: rrubin@bexleylibrary.org

William Rutger, Committee (2014)
Ashland Public Library
Work: 419-289-8188 x17
Email: wrutger@ashland.lib.oh.us

MaryJane Santos, Committee (2016)
Delaware County District Library
Work: 740-363-7277
Email: mjsantos@delawarelibrary.org

Eric Taggart, Committee (2016)
Coshocton Public Library
Work: 740-622-0956
Email: etaggart@coshoctonlibrary.org

Felton Thomas, Committee (2014)
Cleveland Public Library
Work: 216-623-2827
Email: felton.thomas@cpl.org

Andrew Mangels, Board Liaison

Purpose and Objectives

The primary function of the Government Relations Committee is to serve in the best interest of Ohio's public library community in regards to all legal and legislative matters.

To that end, the GRC:

  • Maintains a legislative network to work with library directors around the state to ensure a complete and consistent local grassroots advocacy effort.
  • Monitors and examines all information that has the potential to impact the Public Library Fund, supporting any issue that would increase state funding for public libraries.
  • Makes recommendations to the Ohio Library Council Board of Directors regarding legislation to be submitted to the Ohio General Assembly.
  • Explores collaboration opportunities that will lead to more efficient and effective public library service.
  • Provides legislative recommendations to the Local Government Collaboration and Reform Commission that will further encourage collaboration between library systems.
  • Strongly supports OPLIN and its efforts to provide services to Ohio's public libraries.
  • Reviews proposed changes to the Ohio Public Employee Retirement System (OPERS), supporting legislation which ensures stability of the fund while maintaining fair benefit levels, and communicating as much information as possible regarding OPERS to all OLC members.

Annual Report

2012 Annual Report

Resources/Publications

Government Relations Information





© 2003 OLC, Ohio Library Council, 1105 Schrock Road, Suite 440, Columbus, OH 43229-1174 Map | Directions
Phone:(614) 410-8092, Fax:(614) 410-8098, E-mail: olc@olc.org | Privacy Statement